Skip to main content

Miscellanea

L’instant à l’œuvre

Paris “I find painting at the moment to be a kind of tussle or grappling: it’s a physical, cosmic, spatial endeavor.” Lydie Arickx creates only in public, in the here and now. While resuscitating the living and the dead of the French Revolution in the Expiatory Chapel in Paris, she is also exploring the passage of time, painting an organic maelstrom every day at the Conciergerie.

PERFORMANCE + INSTALLATION

Jusqu’au 9.10, à la Conciergerie.
Jusqu’au 6.11, à la Chapelle expiatoire.
www.paris-conciergerie.fr

Trattoria comme là-bas

Paris This Sicilian gem, with a tiled decor typical of a fishmongers and shelves groaning beneath the weight of olive oil, is where Giuseppe Messina whips up dishes based on what’s available and on family memories. Pasta with fresh sardines, pine nuts and wild fennel, tuna sautéed in garlic, and della mamma cake. No wonder this part of the 16th arrondissement is beaming.

NON SOLO CUCINA

135, rue du Ranelagh. Tél. +33 (0)1 45 27 99 93.
www.nonsolo.fr

Guérit-on de son enfance ?

Paris In this book, the lives of the main characters (Louise, Marie and Jean) are interwoven with absence, deception and what goes unsaid. They revolve like planets around a sun that’s like a negative, missing or misleading. Then, truth rears its head, deliberately, discreetly brutal. It is a silent text, an elegant drama.

AUTOUR DU SOLEIL

Karine Silla. Plon.
www.plon.fr

Yin et Yang

Paris There’s a real attraction between the Zadig & Voltaire man and woman. In their wake float notes of jasmine and vanilla (for her), and pepper and grapefruit (for him), with sandalwood linking the two together. Unassailable scents, hotly complementing one another.

THIS IS HER ! ET THIS IS HIM !

www.zadig-et-voltaire.com

Au seuil des mystères

Paris “Take a closer look,” French art historian Daniel Arasse advises viewers as they admire great masterpieces. For his images, which conceal more than they reveal, photographer Martin d’Orgeval drew on the concept of how something can be blinding in its beauty. Doors, screens and other forms turn into enigmatic, immaterial entities.

M. D’ORGEVAL. REVOIR

Jusqu’au 30.10. 5-7, rue de Fourcy.
www.mep-fr.org

Dans le grand bain

Paris A true fashion accessory, something soft to swaddle yourself in après-bain and a colorful oasis to welcome weary swimmers: the ideal bath towel was woven by La Serviette Paris. In partnership with leading French houses, the featured pattern takes you on a trip through the land of the Navajos (photo).

SERVIETTE NAVAJO

100% coton peigné égyptien.
www.laservietteparis.com

Jouer la fibre nippone

Paris This season, the duo Kitsuné honors The Wind Rises (2013), Japanese director Miyazaki’s last animated film. A bird-like airplane, Mount Fuji and the rising sun all feature in this poetic, playful collection, bolstered by the elegance of natural materials. The name of the collection? Love Rises.

LOVE RISES

Collection automne-hiver 2016.
www.kitsune.fr

À la verticale de l’été

Paris Eugénie Paultre was not the first to paint colorful stripes, but she has her own way of doing so, like joyful repetitions. “Painting is the simplest art,” she says, “just a few colors, like when we were kids, virtually nothing.” Yet this “virtually nothing” morphs into icons of water, sun and air.

EUGÉNIE PAULTRE

Du 12.10 au 5.11.
16, rue Littré.
www.claude-lemand.com

«Le ciel, il n’y a que cela qui m’intéresse»

Paris Gérard Feldzer (b. 1944) joined Air France flying the Caravelle, then became a training captain aboard A330s and A340s (he flew the latter on his last commercial flight, in 2004). Meanwhile, he flew for Aviation Sans Frontières, ran the Musée de l’Air, then lost track of the number of flying, rolling and floating vehicles he traveled on. He recounts his life in this book.

SI TU PEUX… VAS-Y ! JOURNAL D’UN PILOTE AVENTURIER

Gérard Feldzer. XO éditions.
www.xoeditions.com

L’âge courtois

Marseille Giving others gifts to celebrate your birthday is a class act indeed. To mark its 20th year, Sessùn is offering customers a sophisticated book and soundtrack, created by designer Emma François. Their new collection holds another surprise, the revival of their loveliest designs, like a Victorian blouse and flannel overalls.

SESSÙN

www.sessun.com

Pureté urbaine

Paris Female urban cyclists and city trekkers have an invisible common enemy, hidden away in the air and car exhaust. For protection, Bio-Beauté®, Nuxe’s organic little sister launched in 2007, designed its anti-pollution products as a complete line, from the vitamin-laden mask to the fruity lotion treatment. Soaking up the orange water and acerola pulp, the skin goes home with its own share of radiance.

GAMME DÉTOX

Bio-Beauté® by Nuxe.
www.nuxe.com

© Lydie Arickx, photo : Alex Bianchi - Mathieu Martin Delacroix - Antoine Boury

© Mathieu Martin Delacroix - La Serviette Paris - Martin d’Orgeval - Pierpaolo Ferrari

© Mathieu Martin Delacroix - Eugénie Paultre, courtesy galerie Claude Lemand, Paris - Sessùn

Next

Miscellanea

Aller au contenu principal

Miscellanées

Sélection culturelle, gourmande, astuces d’initiés et adresses pointues pour un automne insulaire.

L’instant à l’œuvre

Paris «Je peins à présent au corps-à-corps : c’est une aventure physique, cosmique, spatiale.» Lydie Arickx ne crée plus qu’en public, ici et maintenant. Tandis qu’elle ressuscite les vivants et les morts de la Révolution à la Chapelle expiatoire, elle s’attaque au temps qui passe, en peignant tous les jours, à la Conciergerie, un maelström organique en forme de danse sauvage. ED

PERFORMANCE + INSTALLATION

Jusqu’au 9.10, à la Conciergerie.
Jusqu’au 6.11, à la Chapelle expiatoire.
www.paris-conciergerie.fr

Trattoria comme là-bas

Paris Murs carrelés façon poissonnerie et étagères croulant sous les bidons d’huile d’olive pour cette pépite sicilienne, où Giuseppe Messina réinvente ses assiettes au gré des arrivages et des souvenirs familiaux. Pâtes aux sardines fraîches, pignons et fenouil sauvage, filet de thon poêlé à l’ail rose et gâteau della mamma, de quoi ensoleiller tout ce coin du 16e arrondissement. LO

NON SOLO CUCINA

135, rue du Ranelagh. Tél. +33 (0)1 45 27 99 93.
www.nonsolo.fr

Guérit-on de son enfance ?

Paris Les vies de Louise, Marie et Jean se tissent sur l’absence, le mensonge, le non-dit. Elles tournent comme des planètes autour d’un soleil en négatif, absent, voire trompeur. Puis, une vérité affleure, posément et secrètement brutale. Un texte silencieux. Un drame élégant. VG

AUTOUR DU SOLEIL

Karine Silla. Plon.
www.plon.fr

Yin et Yang

Paris L’homme et la femme Zadig & Voltaire s’attirent. Dans leur sillage flottent des notes de jasmin et de vanille pour elle, de poivre et de pamplemousse pour lui, le santal faisant le lien entre les deux. Des senteurs indomptables, qui se complètent farouchement. MS

THIS IS HER ! ET THIS IS HIM !

www.zadig-et-voltaire.com

Au seuil des mystères

Paris «On n’y voit rien», s’exclamait l’historien de l’art Daniel Arasse face aux chefs-d’œuvre. De cet aveuglement ébloui, le photographe Martin d’Orgeval a fait un style, qui cache plus qu’il ne montre, afin de susciter «notre désir de toucher». Une porte ou un pare-brise se métamorphose ainsi en présence énigmatique, immatérielle. ED

M. D’ORGEVAL. REVOIR

Jusqu’au 30.10. 5-7, rue de Fourcy.
www.mep-fr.org

Dans le grand bain

Paris Accessoire de mode, moelleux refuge d’après bain et oasis chamarrée prête à accueillir le nageur fatigué : le drap de bain idéal a été tissé par La Serviette Paris. En partenariat avec des maisons françaises d’excellence, ses motifs font voyager jusqu’aux terres navajo (photo). MS

SERVIETTE NAVAJO

100% coton peigné égyptien.
www.laservietteparis.com

Jouer la fibre nippone

Paris Cette saison, le duo Kitsuné rend hommage au Vent se lève (2013), dernier film d’animation du Japonais Miyazaki. Avion-oiseau, mont Fuji et soleil levant se glissent dans ce vestiaire poétique et ludique, épaulé par l’élégance des matières naturelles. La collection est nommée Love Rises – l’amour se lève. VG

LOVE RISES

Collection automne-hiver 2016.
www.kitsune.fr

À la verticale de l’été

Paris Eugénie Paultre n’est pas la première à peindre des bandes colorées, mais elle le fait d’une manière intime, comme une répétition de joie. «La peinture est l’art le plus pauvre, confie-t-elle, quelques couleurs, comme quand nous étions enfant, presque rien.» Ce presque rien, l’artiste l’irradie pourtant en icônes de soleil, d’air et d’eau. ED

EUGÉNIE PAULTRE

Du 12.10 au 5.11.
16, rue Littré.
www.claude-lemand.com

«Le ciel, il n’y a que cela qui m’intéresse»

Paris Le monde de Gérard Feldzer. Né en 1944, il débute à Air France sur Caravelle, puis devient commandant de bord instructeur sur A330 et A340 – avion de son dernier vol commercial en 2004. Entre temps, il a volé pour Aviation Sans Frontières, dirigé le musée de l’Air et arrêté de compter les appareils volants, roulants, flottants sur lesquels il a voyagé. Cet intarissable conteur relate sa vie, ses rencontres, ses engagements – solidaires et humanitaires compris. VG

SI TU PEUX… VAS-Y ! JOURNAL D’UN PILOTE AVENTURIER

Gérard Feldzer. XO éditions.
www.xoeditions.com

L’âge courtois

Marseille Fêter son anniversaire en offrant des cadeaux, le comble de l’élégance ? Pour ses 20 ans, Sessùn glisse dans nos sacs un livre et une bande-son cosmopolites, inspirations de la créatrice Emma François. Dont la nouvelle collection réserve une autre surprise : la réédition de ses plus jolies pièces, blouse victorienne ou salopette de flanelle. LO

SESSÙN

www.sessun.com

Pureté urbaine

Paris Cyclistes citadines et randonneuses de bitume ont un adversaire invisible, niché dans l’air et le sillage des voitures… En guise de bouclier, Bio-Beauté®, petite sœur biologique de Nuxe créée en 2007, a pensé sa ligne antipollution comme une panoplie complète, du masque vitaminé à la lotion-soin fruitée. Eau d’orange, pulpe d’acérola, la peau emporte avec elle sa ration d’éclat. LO

GAMME DÉTOX

Bio-Beauté® by Nuxe.
www.nuxe.com

© Lydie Arickx, photo : Alex Bianchi - Mathieu Martin Delacroix - Antoine Boury

© Mathieu Martin Delacroix - La Serviette Paris - Martin d’Orgeval - Pierpaolo Ferrari

© Mathieu Martin Delacroix - Eugénie Paultre, courtesy galerie Claude Lemand, Paris - Sessùn

Article suivant

Miscellanées