Skip to main content

D’un rivage, l’autre

1

Yokainoshima

Japan harbors primordial myths, and this “celebration of a Japanese bestiary” offers an intriguing gallery. For some years, photographer Charles Fréger has been compiling an inventory of different communities, each with its own symbolic traditional and religious festivals. Following on from Europe, this volume explores the Land of the Rising Sun, where he has captured masked and costumed men representing monsters (yôkai), portrayed during rituals. Pure landscapes bathed in natural light enhance these striking disguises.

Par Charles Fréger

Actes Sud

2

Fish

Being Breton and the son of a fisherman, restaurant owner and chef Philippe Emanuelli was probably predisposed to write Fish. In fact, he penned it because he is above all a human being. Instead of a traditional cookbook, he offers techniques for preparing and cooking fish using original recipes as well as ethical and environmental reflections. Illustrated by the striking, gritty photos of Frédéric Raevens, which showcase the raw ingredients.

Par Philippe Emanuelli
et Frédéric Raevens

Marabout

3

Le Vieil Homme et la mer

This is a tale of linesfishing lines, the line of the horizon, the lines drawn by Thierry Murat. In a work of few words and details, the illustrator conveys the poetry and tension of the struggle between a fisherman and a marlin, based on Ernest Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea. The slow passage of time is conveyed in multiple shades of blue and ocher. Murat opts for large frames depicting minimal but telling detailsa bird exiting the image, a close-up of a handand never shows his characters’ eyes, even though they most certainly have a soul.

Par Thierry Murat, librement
inspiré du roman d’Ernest
Hemingway

Futuropolis

4

Tout le monde veut voir la mer

Everyone wants to see the sea except Marika, who would happily swap her beach towel and snorkel for a saddle and riding boots. Yet thanks to the magic of the waves, seashells and her polka-dot swimsuit, the little heroine delicately drawn by Nathalie Choux is about to be surprised. “Other people think we have dreams that we don’t have,” she sighs. But sometimes we discover new dreams, ones that give us “butterflies in the tummy.”

Par Agnès de Lestrade
et Nathalie Choux

Éditions du Rouergue

5

Bibliothèque idéale du naufragé

There’s sand on the shelves of this inexhaustible library compiled by François Armanet, who asked 200 writers from every continent to choose three books they would take with them to a desert island. This impossible task saw some negotiate a fourth choice, while others cleverly picked Balzac’s multivolume Comédie humaine or bravely selected a single text. Some opted for an empty notebook. This joyous literary voyage will make you want to fill a suitcase (with no restrictions on the number of books), seek out a private oasis and read to your heart’s content.

Par François Armanet
et Stéphane Trapier

Flammarion

Crocheted headband and makeup kit Shirley Bredal

Next

Le grand bain

Aller au contenu principal

D’un rivage, l’autre

1

Yokainoshima

Cette «célébration d’un bestiaire nippon» est une galerie d’une intrigante étrangeté. Au Japon, pays au bord de l’Eurasie, subsistent des mythes primordiaux, ailleurs disloqués. Le photographe Charles Fréger dresse depuis plusieurs années l’inventaire des communautés humaines. Chacune a ses fêtes symboliques, traditionnelles ou religieuses. Après l’Europe, le voici au pays du Soleil Levant. Il y fait le portrait d’hommes masqués et revêtus des habits emblématiques des monstres (yôkai) qu’ils représentent le temps d’un rite. Des paysages purs (rizières, plage ou champs de neige) et ses lumières zénithales blanches magnifient les atours – en fin de volume, les clés pour comprendre sans se faire peur. VG

Par Charles Fréger

Actes Sud

2

Fish

Breton, fils de pêcheur et restaurateur, Philippe Emanuelli avait quelques prédispositions pour écrire sur le poisson. Mais c’est avant tout parce qu’il est humain qu’il a fait Fish. Plus qu’un livre de cuisine, il propose un guide dans lequel alternent considérations éthiques et écologiques, techniques de découpe et de cuisson et des recettes originales, le tout illustré par les photos crues de Frédéric Raevens, qui mettent en valeur le produit brut. MS

Par Philippe Emanuelli
et Frédéric Raevens

Marabout

3

Le Vieil Homme et la mer

C’est une histoire de lignes : de pêche, d’horizon, celles tracées par Thierry Murat. En peu de mots et de détails, le dessinateur saisit la poésie et la tension de la lutte entre le pêcheur et l’espadon imaginée par Ernest Heming-way, sa riche palette de bleus et d’ocres se déroulant en dizaines de nuances pour figurer le temps qui passe lentement. Il fait le choix des grandes cases aux détails comptés – un oiseau qui sort du cadre, un gros plan sur une main – et ne montre pas les yeux de ses personnages, qui pourtant ont bien une âme. MS

Par Thierry Murat, librement
inspiré du roman d’Ernest
Hemingway

Futuropolis

4

Tout le monde veut voir la mer

... sauf Marika, qui troquerait volontiers serviette et tuba contre selle et bottes de cheval. Son envie à elle pour les vacances, c’est de chausser les étriers. Pourtant, magie des vagues, des coquillages et des maillots à pois, la petite héroïne finement dessinée par Nathalie Choux va se laisser surprendre. «Les autres croient qu’on a des rêves qu’on a pas », soupire-t-elle. Il arrive aussi qu’on s’en découvre de nouveaux, de ceux qui font alors comme des volées de «papillons dans l’estomac». LO

Par Agnès de Lestrade
et Nathalie Choux

Éditions du Rouergue

5

Bibliothèque idéale du naufragé

Il y a du sable dans les rayonnages de cette bibliothèque inépuisable réunie par François Armanet, qui a posé à 200 écrivains de tous les continents la question fatidique : «Quels sont les trois livres que vous emporteriez sur une île déserte ?» Impossible choix, qui voit certains négocier un quatrième passager, d’autres citer avec astuce toute la Comédie humaine de Balzac, n’élire courageusement qu’un seul texte, voire opter pour un cahier vierge. Une joyeuse navigation littéraire entre chefs-d’œuvre et récits oubliés avec à l’accostage, une tentation : remplir sa valise (sans règle de trois, cette fois), trouver une oasis à soi et ne plus cesser de lire. LO

Par François Armanet
et Stéphane Trapier

Flammarion

Serre-tête et trousse à maquillage tricotés au crochet Shirley Bredal

Article suivant

Le grand bain